Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

About the WIC Program

The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is a federal grant program. Each year, Congress provides FNS with a specific amount of funds for state agencies to operate the program. The program operates through:

  • 89 WIC state agencies, which include 50 state health departments, 33 indian tribal organizations, the District of Columbia, and five territories (Northern Mariana, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands)
  • 1,900 local agencies in 10,000 clinic sites
  • 47,000 authorized retailers

The state agency administers the program in accordance with program regulations, and guides local agencies on all aspects of program operations.

WIC state agencies are responsible for submitting an annual state plan to FNS. State plans are due to FNS by August 15. State agencies should contact their regional office for more information regarding state plan requirements.


Page updated: April 09, 2024