Skip to main content

WIC Breastfeeding Award of Excellence Awardees

Resource type
Training and Outreach
Resource Materials
PDF Icon 2023 Awardees (307.65 KB)

Each year the Food and Nutrition Service, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children announces the WIC Breastfeeding Award of Excellence program, formerly known as the Loving Support Award of Excellence. The award program was established to recognize local WIC agencies that have provided exemplary breastfeeding promotion and support activities. The intent is to provide models and motivate other local agencies to strengthen their breastfeeding promotion and support activities and ultimately increase breastfeeding initiation and duration rates among WIC participants.

The award is given at three levels of performance that build on one another: Gold, Premiere, and Elite. This approach recognizes three groups of agencies that include those that are demonstrating model practices, as well as those who are at varying stages of implementing exemplary breastfeeding promotion and support practices.

In 2023 there were: 111 Gold Awards, 13 Premiere Awards, and 1 Elite Award.

Click on any state below to view 2023 awardees in that region.

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE DC FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY AS GU CNMI PR USVI Mountain Plains Region Midwest Region Northeast Region Mid-Atlantic Region Southeast Region Southwest Region Western Region

Mid-Atlantic Region (MARO)

Gold Awards (9)
Premiere Awards (2)
Elite Awards

District of Columbia

  • Unity Health Care WIC Program


  • Baltimore County WIC Program

New Jersey

  • Burlington County WIC
  • Plainfield WIC Program
  • Passaic WIC Program
  • St. Joseph WIC Program
  • The City of East Orange WIC Program

West Virginia

  • Central WV WIC
  • Mid-Ohio Valley Health Department WIC


  • CCI – Montgomery County WIC


  • Hope Enterprises Inc. Bi-County WIC

Back to map

Mountain Plains Region (MPRO)

Gold Awards (25)
Premiere Awards (3)
Elite Awards


  • Carroll County Health Department
  • Family Care Health Centers
  • Stone County Health Department
  • University Health WIC

Northern Arapaho Tribe

  • Northern Arapaho Tribe WIC Program

South Dakota

  • Aurora County
  • Butte County - Belle Fourche
  • Charles Mix County - Wagner
  • Charles Mix County - Platte
  • Clark County
  • Deuel County - Clear Lake
  • Edmunds County Public Health
  • Hanson County
  • Lawrence County - Deadwood
  • Lawrence County - Spearfish
  • Lincoln County - Canton
  • Lake County - Madison
  • McCook County WIC
  • Meade County Community Health
  • Minnehaha County - Sioux Falls
  • Miner County Community Health
  • Oglala Lakota County - Pine Ridge
  • Pennington County - Rapid City
  • Day County

Rosebud Sioux Tribe

  • Rosebud Sioux Tribe WIC Program


  • Jefferson County Public Health WIC


  • Saline County WIC Program


  • Ravalli County WIC

Back to map

Midwest Region (MWRO)

Gold Awards (17)
Premiere Awards (2)
Elite Awards


  • Broadlawns WIC Program


  • Crawford County Health Department
  • Champaign-Urbana Public Health District
  • VNA Health Care
  • Peoria City/County Health Department


  • Centerstone, Inc. WIC Agency 20
  • Vanderburgh County WIC


  • Detroit Health Department WIC Program
  • District Health Department 4
  • Shiawassee County Health Department


  • Polk-Norman-Mahnomen CHB-WIC


  • Crawford County WIC
  • Delaware Public Health District
  • Franklin County WIC
  • Erie Huron County WIC


  • St. Croix County WIC


  • Elkhart County Health Department, Healthy Beginnings


  • Health Department of Northwest Michigan

Back to map

Northeast Region (NERO)

Gold Awards (15)
Premiere Awards (2)
Elite Awards (1)


  • Day Kimball Hospital WIC


  • Springfield North WIC
  • Franklin/Hampshire/North Quabbin WIC
  • Taunton/Attleboro WIC

New York

  • Anthony L. Jordan Health Center WIC
  • Commission on Economic Opportunity for the Greater Capital Region
  • Community Action Partnership for Madison County WIC
  • Coney Island Hospital WIC Program
  • Essex County WIC Program
  • Morrisania Diagnostic & Treatment Center WIC
  • Research Foundation of SUNY Stony Brook
  • Tompkins County WIC Program
  • Urban Health Plan WIC Program
  • Whitney M Young Jr Health Center

Rhode Island

  • Scalabrini Dukcevich Center WIC Program


  • Vermont Department of Health - Barre District Office
  • Vermont Department of Health - St. Johnsbury District Office


  • Vermont Department of Health - Morrisville WIC Program

Back to map

Southeast Region (SERO)

Gold Awards (24)
Premiere Awards (2)
Elite Awards


  • Hernando County WIC
  • Okaloosa County WIC
  • Pasco County WIC


  • District 2 - Gainesville


  • Allen County Health Department
  • Bell County Health Department
  • Lake Cumberland District Health Department
  • Martin County Health Department
  • Whitley County Health Department


  • District 2-Alcorn County Health Department
  • District 2-Lee County Health Department
  • District 3-Attala County Health Department
  • District 3-Bolivar County Health Department
  • District 3-Sunflower County Health Department

North Carolina

  • Appalachian District Health Department
  • Catawba County Public Health - WIC
  • Granville Vance Public Health
  • Haywood County WIC
  • Iredell County Health Department
  • Piedmont Health Services WIC Program

South Carolina

  • Beaufort Jasper Hampton Comprehensive Health Services
  • Pee Dee Public Health Region, DHEC


  • Knox County Regional Office
  • Madison County Health Department

North Carolina

  • Buncombe County WIC
  • Pender County WIC

Back to map

Southwest Region (SWRO)

Gold Awards (12)
Premiere Awards (1)
Elite Awards


  • Arkansas WIC Program


  • Cochise County WIC Program
  • El Rio Health WIC
  • Mountain Park Health Center WIC Program
  • Navajo County WIC Program
  • Pima County Health Department

Citizen Potawatomi Nation

  • Citizen Potawatomi Nation WIC - Oklahoma City Southside Office


  • Oklahoma City-County Health Department WIC
  • Variety Care WIC


  • Weber-Morgan Health Department

Wichita, Caddo & Delaware Enterprises, Inc.

  • Wichita Caddo Delaware WIC Program


  • Yavapai County WIC

Back to map

Western Region (WRO)

Gold Awards (9)
Premiere Awards (1)
Elite Awards


  • County of Alameda
  • Native American Health Center
  • Northeast Valley Health Corporation
  • Shasta County WIC

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

  • CNMI WIC Program


  • Kokua Kalihi Valley WIC

Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada

  • Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada WIC


  • Multnomah County Health Department


  • Sea Mar Community Health Centers WIC

Back to map

Page updated: July 08, 2024