Skip to main content

When serving communities through TEFAP, it is important to consider a participant’s perspective on cultural and religious practices around food. Participants choosing to follow a halal diet may not be able to take all items available through TEFAP.

Halal Diets

halal foods

Halal diets typically do not permit pork products, alcohol and products that contain alcohol, or products containing ingredients that use non-halal animal-derived products. For example, some cheese products use an ingredient called rennet that is derived from an animal, therefore the cheese would not be acceptable to halal-observant communities.

Halal Certified Foods

Some USDA Foods are certified halal, meaning that the product is not only acceptable but has been processed in a facility that maintains the integrity of the halal certification. These items are identified on the TEFAP foods available list with an “(H)” next to the item name.

Non-Certified Acceptable Foods

Other products on the TEFAP foods available list may be acceptable to halal-observant communities without a halal certification, such as fresh produce, certain types of fish, and shell eggs. It is important to work with leaders in your community to identify what non-certified items will be acceptable to your participants, as levels of observance may vary between communities.

Halal Foods in TEFAP

Use the dropdowns below to see items available through TEFAP that may be acceptable to halal-observant communities. The six digit number included with each food is the material code used in Web Based Supply Chain Management (WBSCM).

May be Acceptable without Certification
Applesauce, Unsweetened, Canned (K) - 100207
Pears, Extra Light Syrup, Canned (K) - 100223
Apples, Braeburn, Fresh - 100523
Apples, Empire, Fresh - 100517
Apples, Fuji, Fresh - 100522
Apples, Gala, Fresh - 100521
Apples, Granny Smith, Fresh - 110543  
Apples, Red Delicious, Fresh - 100514
Apples, Fresh - 110561
Oranges, Fresh - 100283
Pears, Bartlett, Fresh - 111424
Pears, Bosc, Fresh - 111423
Pears, D’Anjou, Fresh - 111422
Pears, Fresh - 110560
Strawberries, Whole, Unsweetened, Frozen - 111680 
Halal CertifiedMay be Acceptable without Certification
Tomato Sauce, Low Sodium, Canned (K)(H) - 110610Beans, Green, Low Sodium, Canned (K) - 100306
 Corn, Whole Kernel, No Salt Added, Canned (K) - 100311
 Mixed Produce Box, Fresh - 111427
 Potatoes, Round, Fresh - 101019
 Potatoes, Russet, Fresh - 101017
 Sweet Potatoes, Fresh - 111058
May be Acceptable without Certification
Beans, Garbanzo, Canned (K) - 111060
Beans, Black-eyed Pea, Dry - 100374
Beans, Great Northern, Dry - 100380
Beans, Kidney, Light Red, Dry - 100385
Beans, Lima, Baby, Dry - 100378
Beans, Pinto, Dry - 100382
Lentils, Dry - 100388
Peas, Green Split, Dry - 111055
Protein Foods
May be Acceptable without Certification
Almonds, Natural, Whole, Shelled - 100907
Atlantic Haddock, Fillet, Frozen – 111292
Atlantic Ocean Perch, Fillet, Frozen – 111293
Atlantic Pollock, Fillet, Frozen - 111291
Peanut Butter, Smooth (K) - 111170
Salmon, Pink, Canned (K) - 110580
Eggs, Fresh - 100936
Walnut, Pieces – 100908
May be Acceptable without Certification
Cornmeal, Yellow – 100471 
Flour, All Purpose, Enriched, Bleached - 100400
Flour, White Whole Wheat - 110857
Grits, Corn, White - 111082
Grits, Corn, yellow - 111072
Oats, Rolled, Quick Cooking - 111074
Pasta, macaroni, Enriched - 110511
Pasta, Macaroni, Whole Grain - 101023
Pasta, Rotini, Whole Grain - 110777
Pasta, Spaghetti, Enriched - 110450
Pasta, Spaghetti, Whole Grain - 101035
Rice, Medium Grain - 100487, 100488
Rice, Long Grain - 100491, 100492
May be Acceptable without Certification
Oil, Vegetable - 100441

Additional Resources

For more information and resources, please visit the TEFAP website. If you need additional information about participating in TEFAP in your area, please reach out to your state agency.   

Webinars hosted by FNS regarding Halal foods in TEFAP: 

For specific Halal information the following organizations may be helpful:

Page updated: January 03, 2024