Skip to main content

State EBT Equipment Program

SNAP benefits are issued on electronic benefits transfer or EBT cards that are used like debit cards. States are required to provide no-cost, EBT-only point of sale (POS) equipment to certain direct marketing farmers and farmers’ markets (DMFs/FMs) that are exempted from a requirement that SNAP retailers pay for their own EBT equipment (found in the 2014 Farm Bill).

In FY 2019, FNS offered states an opportunity to obtain funding to provide DMFs/FMs with equipment that can be used to process SNAP transactions. Twenty-nine (29) states asked for and received funding:

  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virgin Islands
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming


If you are the owner/manager of a DMF/FM that operates in one of these states, please check with your state EBT contact to determine if this option may work for your market or farm.

Page updated: April 05, 2023