Skip to main content

Eligibility & How to Apply

CSFP participants must reside in one of the States or on one of the Indian reservations that participate in CSFP. States establish income limits for the elderly that are at or below 130 percent of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines. States also establish income limits for the children who remain on the program that are at or below 185 percent of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines, but not below 100 percent of these guidelines. States may establish local residency requirements based on designated service areas (but may not require a minimum period of residency). States may also require that participants be at nutritional risk, as determined by a physician or by local agency staff.

Participant Eligibility Requirements

Includes low-income elderly persons at least 60 years of age who meet income eligibility requirements. Women, infants, and children currently receiving CSFP benefits who were certified to receive such assistance on or before Feb. 6, 2014 are also eligible to continue to receive assistance under the program rules in effect on that date, in accordance with the Agricultural Act of 2014 (PL 113-79, the 2014 Farm Bill). As required by the 2014 Farm Bill, women, infants, and children who apply to participate in CSFP on Feb. 7, 2014, or later cannot be certified to participate in the program. Such individuals may be eligible for other nutrition assistance programs such as the:

Note: Eligible participants cannot participate in both WIC and CSFP at the same time.

Guidelines used by state agencies in determining the income eligibility of persons applying for participation.

How to Apply

Contact your state distributing agency (SDA) for further assistance.

Page updated: December 28, 2023