Skip to main content

Doing Business with FNS

Resource type
Technical Assistance
Training and Outreach

If your company wants to conduct business with FNS, there are a few steps to complete before you can compete for FNS contracts. If you have any questions, please reach out to our small business coordinator at

Step 1: Register with System for Award Management (SAM)

All businesses, individuals, or agencies who wish to do business with the federal government need to register with the SAM to obtain a Unique Entity ID (UEI). Registration is free. For additional guidance on, please refer to the training for small businesses located here: Assisting Small Businesses thru Training.

Step 2: Identify your company's NAICS Codes

Your company's North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes help determine if you qualify as a small business based on certain NAICS size standards. The Small Business Administration's (SBA) table of small business size standards helps small businesses assess their business size.

Step 3: Learn about FNS and the Goods and Services We Procure
What do we do?

FNS operates 16 nutrition assistance programs. The 16 programs are operated out of four major program areas:

  • Child Nutrition Programs (CNP) help ensure that children have access to nutritious meals and snacks in schools, summer programs, childcare centers and homes, and afterschool programs.
  • Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) helps-low-income households across the country purchase food. It provides a monthly benefit that helps families and individuals buy the food they need for good health. The benefit is provided based on income, resources, and the number of individuals in the household. Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) cards are used to receive the benefit and can be used similar to debit cards at participating food stores.
  • Supplemental Nutrition and Safety (SNAS) oversees a diverse portfolio of programs that support nutrition security across all life stages including the USDA Foods distribution programs and the Special Supplemental Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), food safety, and disaster assistance.
What do we procure?

FNS procures a variety of services each fiscal year. Requirements are solicited under six primary NAICS categories:

  • 54 - Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services
  • 49 - Postal Service, Courier/Messenger, Warehousing
  • 56 - Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services
  • 33 - Manufacturing (metals, machinery, computer, electronics electrical transportation equipment, furniture, miscellaneous)
  • 51 - Information
  • 22 - Utilities
Step 4: Identify Contracting Opportunities
Step 5: Develop a Capability Statement

A capability statement is a concise, one-page overview of your business competencies. Think of it as your business resume. The capability statement highlights your core capabilities and key performance elements that differentiate your business from the competition.

Page updated: July 02, 2024