Skip to main content

Information Collection: Healthy Meals Incentives Recognition Awards Application for SFAs

Publication Date
FNS Document #
FNS 2022-27941
Resource type
Federal Register Documents
Comment Request
Comment Period End Date

In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice invites the general public and other public agencies to comment on this proposed information collection. This is a new collection for the Healthy Meals Incentives Recognition Awards Application. The Recognition Awards will recognize school food authorities (SFAs) that have made significant improvements to the nutritional quality of their school meals by exceeding the transitional school meal pattern requirements, engaging students, and implementing innovative practices. SFAs can apply to one or more Recognition Awards included in the application form.


The National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) are federally assisted meal programs operating in public and non-profit private schools and residential child care institutions. The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) administers the NSLP and SBP at the federal level. These programs provide nutritionally balanced, low-cost, or no-cost meals to children each school day. School lunches and breakfasts provided through these programs (i.e., school meals) must meet federal nutrition requirements, which are based upon the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

USDA FNS recently announced the Healthy Meals Incentives Initiative Recognition Awards to support improvements in the nutritional quality of school meals through the generation and sharing of innovative ideas and tested practices being implemented at the local level. These efforts will also highlight the remarkable achievements SFAs are making in the offering of nutritious school meals that students enjoy. The recognition awards will spotlight innovative practices, student and community engagement strategies, and strategies schools have used to provide meals that are consistent with the 2020-2025 DGA. USDA FNS will highlight and share these diverse best practices nationwide through training and technical assistance resources and Healthy Meals Summits. SFAs meeting Healthy Meals Incentives Recognition Award criteria will receive nonmonetary recognition and stipends to attend and participate in the Healthy Meals Summits.

The collected feedback has informed the development of the Healthy Meals Incentives Recognition Awards. FNS anticipates providing up to 10 types of recognition awards. SFAs may receive awards in more than one category, but SFAs shall receive each award only once.

Page updated: November 22, 2023