USDA Farm to School Staff

Last Modified: 03/13/2014

Spread across seven regional offices and the national office in Washington DC, an experienced USDA team is available to help facilitate implementation of farm to school programming. For resources and information pertinent to your geographic area, please contact the relevant regional contact below. You may also contact the National Office for general inquiries. Please also see our helpful list of State agency contacts.

National Office Staff

Laura Brown
Program Analyst
1400 Independence Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20250
Laura.Brown@fns.usda.gov
202-720-0092
For general inquiries related to farm to school.

Matt Benson
Program Analyst
1400 Independence Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20250
Matthew.Benson@fns.usda.gov
202-720-6740
For inquiries related to the USDA Farm to School Census, support to state agencies, and efforts involving cooperative extension.

Christina Conell
Program Analyst
90 Seventh St., Suite 10-100
San Francisco, CA 94103
Christina.Conell@fns.usda.gov
415-705-1353
For general inquiries related to farm to school, USDA Foods, and procurement of local and regional products.

Maggie Gosselin
Program Analyst
90 Seventh St., Suite 10-100
San Francisco, CA 94103
Maggie.Gosselin@fns.usda.gov
415-705-1342
For inquiries related to training and technical assistance and farm to school planning grants.

Deborah Kane
National Director
farmtoschool@fns.usda.gov

Matt Russell
Program Analyst
1244 Speer Blvd., Suite 903
Denver, CO 80204
Matthew.russell@fns.usda.gov
202-720-6765

For inquiries regarding the farm to school grant program.

Regional Office Staff

Mid-Atlantic Region

Tegan Hagy
300 Corporate Boulevard
Robbinsville, NJ 08691-1598
tegan.hagy@fns.usda.gov
609-259-5071
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Virginia, Virgin Islands, West Virginia
Topic Specialization: School Gardens

Mountain Plains Region

Robert Gorman
1244 Speer Blvd., Suite 903
Denver, CO 80204
robert.gorman@fns.usda.gov
303-844-2507
Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming
Topic Specialization: Beginning Farmers and Ranchers 

Midwest Region

Vanessa Zajfen
77 W. Jackson Blvd., Suite 2000
Chicago, IL 60604
vanessa.zajfen@fns.usda.gov
312-353-0683
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin
Topic Specialization: Small Livestock

Southeast Region

Samantha Benjamin-Kirk
61 Forsyth Street S.W., RM 8T36
Atlanta, GA 30303
samantha.benjamin-kirk@fns.usda.gov
404-562-1813
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee
Topic Specialization: Farm to School + Tribal Initiatives 

Northeast Region

Danielle Fleury
10 Causeway Street
Boston, MA 02222
danielle.fleury@fns.usda.gov
617-565-1604
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont
Topic Specialization: Farm to School + Summer Foods Program

Southwest Region

Nicole Zammit
1100 Commerce St, Room 522
Dallas, TX 75242
Nicole.Zammit@fns.usda.gov
214-290-9887
Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas
Topic Specialization: Menu Planning

Western Region

Kacie O'Brien
90 Seventh St., Suite 10-100
San Francisco, CA 94103
kacie.o’brien@fns.usda.gov
415-645-1925
Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Freely Associated States, American Samoa
Topic Specialization: Farm to School + Strikeforce (for more information on USDA’s Strikeforce Initiative, click here.)

To receive information and updates about USDA’s Farm to School Program, please sign up for our Farm to School E-letter.