Farm To School

State Contacts

Last Modified: 09/16/2014

Farm to School Contacts with State Government

Farm to School Coordinators exist in many state departments of agriculture and/or education. For information on resources in your state, please see the map and list of state agency contacts shared below. USDA strongly encourages you to connect with the resources in your state as a first option for questions regarding farm to school.
 

 

Alabama

June Barrett
Department of Education
Jbarrett@ALSDE.edu
(334) 242-8231

Alice Evans
Alabama Sustainable Agriculture Network
alice@asanonline.org
256‐743‐0742
 

Alaska

Jo Dawson
Department of Education and Early Development
jo.dawson@alaska.gov
907‐465‐8708

Johanna Herron
Department of Natural Resources
Johanna.herron@alaska.gov
907-761-3870

 

Arizona

Mary Szafranski
Department of Education
mary.szafranski@azed.gov
602‐542‐8709

Ashley Schimke
Department of Education
Ashley.Schimke@azed.gov
602‐364‐2282

 

Arkansas

Stephanie Alsbrook
Department of Education
stephanie.alsbrook@arkansas.gov
501‐324‐9502

Shelia Brown
Department of Education
Sheila.Brown@arkansas.gov
501‐324‐9502

 

California

Sandip Kaur
Department of Education
skaur@cde.ca.gov
916‐323‐7311

Diana Abellera
Community Alliance with Family Farmers
farmtoschool@caff.org
510‐832‐4625 x14

Sharon Cech
Occidental College
cech@oxy.edu
323-341-5091

 

Colorado

Jane Brand
Department of Education
Brand_j@cde.state.co.us
303‐866‐6934

Ashley Moen
Department of Education
moen_a@cde.state.co.us
303‐866‐6653

Shaina Knight
Department of Agriculture
shaina.knight@state.co.us
303‐239‐4371

 

Connecticut

Monica Pachecho
Department of Education
monica.pacheco@ct.gov
860‐807‐2073

Jane Slupecki
Department of Agriculture
jane.slupecki@ct.gov
860‐713‐2588

Michelle McCabe
Hartford Food System
Michelle@HartfordFood.org
860-296-9325

Dana Stevens
FoodCorps
dana.stevens@foodcorps.org
603-809-9231
 

Delaware

Aime Beam
Department of Education
abeam@doe.k12.de.us
302‐735‐4060

David Marvel
Fruit & Vegetable Growers Association of Delaware
david.marvelfarms@gmail.com
302‐381‐4811

 

District of Columbia

Sandra Schlicker
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Sandra.Schlicker@dc.gov
202‐741‐5252

Erica Steinhart
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Erica.Steinhart@dc.gov
202‐442‐8940

Sam Ullery
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
sam.ullery@dc.gov
202‐741‐6485

 

Florida

Robin Safely
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Robin.Safley@freshfromflorida.com
850‐617‐7436

Lindsey Grubbs
Farm to School Program
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Lindsey.Grubbs@FreshFromFlorida.com
(850) 617-7437
 

 

Georgia

Nancy Rice
Department of Education
nrice@doe.k12.ga.us
404‐651‐6600

Laura Tanase
Department of Education
ltanase@doe.k12.ga.us
404‐656‐2738

Kathy Benton
Department of Education
kbenton@doe.k12.ga.us
404‐651‐6604

 

Hawaii

Sue Uyehara
Department of Education
Sue_Uyehara@notes.k12.hi.us
808‐587‐3600

Kaliko Amona
'AINA In Schools, a Program of the Kokua Hawai'i Foundation
kaliko@kokuahawaiifoundation.org
808‐638‐5145

Tiana Kamen
Mālama Kauaʻi
tiana@malamakauai.org
808‐828‐0685 x12

 

Idaho

Dianne Esplin
Department of Education
desplin@sde.idaho.gov
208‐332‐6827

Leah Clark
Department of Agriculture
leah.clark@agri.idaho.gov
208‐332‐8500
 

 

Illinois

Mark Haller
State Board of Education
mhaller@isbe.net
217‐782‐2491

Lindsay Blough
State Board of Education
lblough@isbe.net
217‐782‐2491

 

Indiana

Julie Sutton
Department of Education
jsutton@doe.in.gov
317‐232‐0845

Laura Hormuth
Health Department
lhormuth@isdh.in.gov
317‐234‐3498

Maggie Stephon
Department of Education
mstephon@doe.in.gov
317-232-2130

 

Iowa

Ann Feilmann
Department of Education
ann.feilmann@iowa.gov
515‐281‐4757

Janice Steffen
Department of Education
jan.steffen@iowa.gov
515‐6812301

Tammy Stotts
Department of Agriculture
tammy.stotts@iowaAgriculture.gov
515‐281‐7657

 

Kansas

Cheryl Johnson
Department of Education
csjohnson@ksde.org
785‐296‐2276

Barb Depew
Kansas State Department of Education
bdepew@ksde.org
785‐456‐7388

 

Kentucky

Deanna Tackett
Department of Education
deanna.tackett@education.ky.gov
502‐564‐5625 x4929

Diane Preston
Department of Education
diane.preston@education.ky.gov
502‐564‐5625 x4926

Tina Garland
Department of Agriculture
Tina.Garland@ky.gov
502‐382‐7505

 

Louisiana

John Dupre
Department of Education
john.dupre@la.gov
225‐342‐3720

Katie Mularz
Louisiana Farm to School
info@louisianafarmtoschool.org
504-452-6975

Melissa Parrino
Department of Education
Melissa.Parrino@la.gov
225‐342‐3681

 

Maine

Walter Beesley
Department of Education
walter.beesley@maine.gov
207‐624‐6842

Ellen (Ellie) Libby
University of Maine Cooperative Extension
ellen.libby@maine.edu
207‐832‐0343

Stephanie Stambach
Department of Education
stephanie.stambach@maine.gov
207-624-6732  

 

Maryland

Robin Ziegler
Department of Education
rziegler@msde.state.md.us
410‐767‐0199

Karen Fedor
Department of Agriculture
karen.fedor@maryland.gov
410‐841‐5773

 

Massachusetts

Kathleen Millett
Department of Education
kmillett@doe.mass.edu
781‐338‐6479

Simca Horwitz
Mass Farm to School Project
simca@massfarmtoschool.org
617-239-2574

 

Michigan

Marla Moss
Department of Education
mossm1@michigan.gov
517‐373‐4337

Diane Golzynski
Department of Education
Golzynski.d@michigan.gov
517‐373‐3383

Colleen Matts
Michigan State University Center for Regional Food Systems
matts@msu.edu
517‐432‐0310
 

Minnesota

Monica Herrera
Department of Education
Monica.Herrera@state.mn.us
651‐582‐8266

Gail Anderson
Department of Education
gail.c.anderson@state.mn.us
651‐582‐8526

Stephanie Heim
University of Minnesota Extension
heim0106@umn.edu
507-319-0263

 

Mississippi

Priscilla Ammerman
Department of Education
pammerman@mde.k12.ms.us
601‐576‐4982

Scott Clements
Department of Education
SClements@mde.k12.ms.us
601‐576‐4984

 

Missouri

Karen Wooton
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
karen.wooton@dese.mo.gov
573‐751‐3526

Lorin Fahrmeier
University of Missouri Extension
fahrmeierl@missouri.edu
816‐655‐6015
 

Montana

Christine Emerson
Office of Public Instruction
cemerson@mt.gov
406‐444‐2502

Katie Bark
Montana State University
kbark@mt.gov
406‐994‐5641

Aubree Roth
Montana Team Nutrition Program
ac.roth.msu@gmail.com
406-994-5996

 

Nebraska

Beverly Benes
Department of Education
Bev.Benes@nebraska.gov
402‐471‐3566

Sharon Davis
Department of Education
Sharon.L.Davis@nebraska.gov
402‐471‐3559

 

Nevada

Catrina Peters
Department of Agriculture
cpeters@agri.nv.gov
775‐687‐9103
 

New Hampshire

Cheri White
Department of Education
Cheri.White@doe.nh.gov
603‐271‐3860

Stacey Purslow
University of New Hampshire
Stacey.Purslow@unh.edu
603‐862‐2542
 

New Jersey

Rose Tricario
Department of Agriculture
Rose.Tricario@ag.state.nj.us
609‐984‐0692

Jacqueline Bricker
Department of Agriculture
jacqueline.bricker@ag.state.nj.us
609‐292‐0692

Beth Feehan
New Jersey Farm to School Network
info@njfarmtoschool.org
609‐577‐5113

 

New Mexico

Regina Madrid
Department of Education
Regina.Madrid@state.nm.us
505‐827‐1821

Donia Intriere
Department of Education
Donna.Intriere@state.nm.us
505‐827‐1465

Alena Paisano
Farm to Table
alena@farmtotablenm.org
505-473-1004 ext. 16

 

New York

Jim Liebow
Brockport Central School District
james.liebow@bcs1.org
585-637-1846

Paula Tyner Doyle
Department of Education
PTYNERDO@mail.nysed.gov
518‐473‐8781

 

North Carolina

Lynne Harvey
Department of Public Instruction
Lynn.Harvey@dpi.nc.gov
919‐807‐3507

Zoe McKay‐Tucker
Department of Public Instruction
zoe.mckaytucker@dpi.nc.gov
919‐807‐3517

 

North Dakota

Linda Schloer
Department of Public Instruction
lkschloer@nd.gov
701‐328‐2294

 

Ohio

Mary Kershaw
Department of Education
mary.kershaw@education.ohio.gov
614‐644‐2601

Liz Solomon
Department of Education
liz.solomon@education.ohio.gov
614‐466‐9273/ 800‐808‐6325

Carol Smathers
Ohio State University Extension
smathers.14@osu.edu
614‐688‐1801

 

Oklahoma

Debbie Hamilton
Department of Education
debbie_hamilton@sde.state.ok.us
405‐522‐5037

Katie Kovar-Strack
Oklahoma Farm to School Coordinator
katie.strack@ag.ok.gov
405-522-2106

 

Oregon

Joyce Dougherty
Department of Education
joyce.dougherty@state.or.us
503‐947‐5888

Rick Sherman
Department of Education
Rick.Sherman@state.or.us
503‐947‐5863

Michelle Markesteyn‐Ratcliffe
Department of Agriculture
mmarkesteyn@oda.state.or.us
503‐872‐6600

 

Pennsylvania

Vonda Cooke
Department of Education
vcooke@pa.gov
717‐787‐7698

Elaine McDonnell
Penn State University
etm101@psu.edu
814‐865‐5869

 

Rhode Island

Becky Bessette
Department of Education
Becky.Bessette@ride.ri.gov
401‐222‐ 4253

Kimberly Clark
Farm Fresh Rhode Island
kimclark@farmfreshri.org
646‐541‐0952

 

South Carolina

Holly Harring
Department of Health and Environmental Control
harrinha@dhec.sc.gov
203‐209‐8127

Marvis President
Department of Education
mpresident@ed.sc.gov
803-734-8045

 

South Dakota

Sandra Kangas
Department of Education
sandra.kangas@state.sd.us
605‐773‐4746

Holly Tilton Bryne
Dakota Rural Action
hollyt@dakotarural.org
605‐697‐5204

 

Tennessee

Phyllis Hodges
Department of Education
Phyllis.Hodges@tn.gov
615‐532‐4742

 

Texas

Alyssa Herold
Department of Agriculture
Alyssa.Herold@TexasAgriculture.gov
512‐463‐1209

 

Utah

Luann Elliot
State Office of Education
Luann.Elliott@schools.utah.gov
801‐538‐7513

Kim Loveland
State Office of Education
Kimberly.Loveland@schools.utah.gov
801‐538‐7684

 

Vermont

Laurie Colgan
Department of Education
laurie.colgan@state.vt.us
802‐828‐5153

Betsy Rosenbluth
Shelburne Farms
brosenbluth@shelburnefarms.org
802-985-0318

Ali Zipparo
Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets
alexandra.zipparo@state.vt.us
802-505-1822

 

Virginia

Catherine Digilio Grimes
Department of Education
catherine.digilio‐grimes@doe.virginia.gov
804‐225‐2074

Leanne DuBois
Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
leanne.dubois@vdacs.virginia.gov
804‐225‐3663

Andrea Early
Harrisonburg City Public Schools
aearly@harrisonburg.k12.va.us
540‐437‐3300

 

Washington

Donna Parsons
Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
donna.parsons@k12.wa.us
360‐725‐6210

Wendy Barkley
Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Wendy.Barkley@k12.wa.us
360‐725‐6220

Tricia Sexton‐Kovacs
Department of Agriculture
tkovacs@agr.wa.gov
206‐256‐6150
 

West Virginia

Richard Goff
Department of Education
rjgoff@access.k12.wv.us
304‐558‐2709

Bekki Leigh
Department of Education
bleigh@access.k12.wv.us
304‐558‐0573

 

Wisconsin

Sarah Elliott
Department of Agriculture
Sarah.Elliott@wisconsin.gov
608-224-5046

Katherine Pike, RDN, CD
Department of Public Instruction
katherine.pike@dpi.wi.gov
608-266-2410

Jessica Sharkus
Department of Public Instruction
Jessica.Sharkus@dpi.wi.gov
608‐267‐9121
 

Wyoming

Tamra Jackson
Department of Education
tamra.jackson@wyo.gov
307‐777‐6263

Terry Walling
Department of Education
terry.walling@wyo.gov
307‐777‐6270

 

 

To receive information and updates about USDA’s Farm to School Program, please sign up for our Farm to School E-letter.